top of page
  • Writer's picturesebastianwsoja

College College College


Everything seems to be about college right now, but what does that mean? I hope to combine two of my greatest passions together in college, engineering and the environment. After doing some research, the major of environmental engineering made an impact. This major would allow me to achieve my goal of preserving the environment in some way while also making the world better for humans. Most careers in this field pursue water control/management in some way shape or form so that's the most likely option for myself. However, many civil engineers come from this major so that door is also open.



In terms of famous environmental engineers, there aren't many. However, an extremely influential person in this field is G. D. Agrawal. Agrawal was an Indian environmental engineer/activist who devoted his life and legacy to preserving sacred rivers in India, even as going as far as fasting for months on end until his eventual death. Going back a few decades, he studied at the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee and the Benaras Hindu University and received a degree in environmental engineering. Although I can't find confirmation of this, I believe that it's likely he received additional education at the Benaras Hindu University. Throughout his career, Agrawal can be described as passionate, relentless, fearless, persistent, and consistent. Upon researching environmental engineers, Agrawal immediately stuck out due to these aforementioned words. His passion was immediately evident and made me want to learn more about him. His career is legend in Indian politics but his career isn't one that I would like to replicate. He pursued more protests and activism than I like and took a more untraditional route. Ultimately, G. D. Agrawal was an incredible engineer, activist, and person.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Beginning of the End

Here we are, second semester of senior year. Things should be wrapping up but honestly it feels as if we're all as stressed as ever; college and scholarship applications are to blame. However, outside

Wrapping up JPL

Despite losing to the "people" at Oakwood, I would consider the Santa Monica Goats United moderately successful. Overall, I'm proud of the poster and the design wasn't half bad (and would have been be

An Update

The academy is starting to get in a groove, projects are being finished and now the JPL challenge is underway as well. One of the completed projects is the Ethics in Engineering slideshow. My group re

bottom of page